Facebook Messenger has become an essential tool where millions interact on the daily basis. With increased use, it is obvious that there is a tendency to pile up messages thus it is important to archive some messages which if left unsecured, they could land into the wrong hands and cause more damage to you than good. Therefore, we are going to guide you on how you can delete Facebook Messenger chat history on an iPhone or Android device.
Apart from that, you will learn how to archive Facebook Messenger conversation on either Android or iPhone. By the end of this discussion, you will have an idea on how you can clear recent search history on Facebook Messenger as well.
How to Delete Facebook Messenger Conversation on Android and iPhone
How to Archive Facebook Messenger Conversation on Android and iPhone
Difference of Delete and Archive
How to Clear Recent Search History in Facebook Messenger
There are two ways you can delete a conversation from the Facebook Messenger; archiving and deleting. But here, we shall dwell on deleting a conversation from Android and the iPhone smartphone and other devices.
When deleting, the conversation is completely erased from the Facebook and you may not access that message again unless you use a third to do so. The message is deleted in two steps from the Facebook Messenger.
Initially, you can start by opening the Facebook Messenger application and then proceeding to the recent conversation list. Here, you will find the conversation that you are looking for in order to delete.
In this case, you can touch the conversation and perform a long press where a pop up will appear with various options. Since your target is to get rid of the conversation, select delete option to get rid of the messages completely.
Archiving is the best way you can save old messages. By doing so, your messages will stay safe on your Facebook profile and remain undeleted even if you change your phone.
First of all, you need to access your Facebook messenger and proceed to the conversation you wish to delete.
Make a long tap on the conversation and tap’more’, then you will see the pop up appears with numerous options. From the various options, look out for archive and select it to archive selected messages.
Once archived, the text message will be transferred from the Facebook Messenger to be saved on your Facebook profile. Therefore, from your Facebook profile, you can retrieve the conversation by un-archiving it from the archive.
It does not matter whether you are deleting or archiving a conversation provided that messages disappear from the inbox. But the difference arises when it comes to where the deleted or archived messages go to.
Whereas the deleted messages go to the trash, the archived message ends up in the Archive Folder or the All Mail on your Gmail or Google account. However, one important thing to note is that when you delete your messages from either an Android or iPhone device, the deleted content could permanently get purged from the trash folder automatically after thirty days.
On the other hand, the archive folder does not get automatically emptied after a certain period of time expires. Basically, these are the main differences derived from deleting and archiving conversations or messages.
Sometimes you could wish to clear your recent search history from the Facebook messenger and perhaps end up with no idea of where to start.
The process is simple whereby you need to go to Facebook app (not Messenger, but Facebook app), log in to your Facebook account and then go to the Account Settings.
Look for the ‘security and login’ in the ‘Settings & Privacy’ and then proceed to the Archive sessions. At this point, you can tap on the three dot button at the active sessions to log out of the Messenger app. By logging out, it means that your search history is deleted in the process.
Once you are done with this step, move to Facebook Messenger application where you will see the notification informing you that the session was logged out.
By now, you can log in the Facebook account once more and then go to the Messenger to verify that there is no search history there.
At this point, you are fully aware of how you can delete or archive your messages in either Android or iPhone devices. This is a significant step where you can easily manage your private data and safeguard it from landing into unauthorized hands.
As a matter of fact, you can follow those steps mentioned above when deleting the unwanted conversation from your Android or iPhone devices.